Tags

, , , ,

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “The Golden Hour.”

    SIX AM STARTS – NO BOTHER!!!!  

It’s pitch black at the moment when I get up quietly so as not to disturb the rest of the house.  I get dressed quickly, no makeup at this hour are you mad I’m so foggy from sleep I wouldn’t trust myself with a mascara wand or kohl – and head straight for the kettle: one strong coffee, sweet, a little milk.  And then I head into our dining room where my manuscript is waiting for me.

I finished the first draft of my novel over the summer and now I’m editing it. I started it last October and had no sooner written the first two chapters when my mother became ill.  Sadly she passed away the following month and the mini-manuscript was left hiding away on my laptops hard drive.  And then, when winter had finally passed the days were getting longer and summer was approaching I decided that it was time to take it out and continue it.  For the following two months I got up at 5am and wrote for  two hours, if I could manage to write more during the day and at night when the children were asleep so much the better!! I finished my first draft last august bank holiday weekend and, on the advice of all the experts I left it alone for a few weeks.  That was when I decided it was time to start a blog – I’d been toying with the idea for a while but didn’t know where to start – it was the perfect project for me it would take my mind off my novel and I’m having great fun with it I didn’t realise there were so many talented writers out there – I am in awe of you

Last week I got back into my 5am starts and I know most people don’t get it but i actually like this time of morning!! When I finally began editing ( two weeks later than I was supposed to – I was putting it off because I was dreading the task I won’t lie) I was surprised to find that I actually enjoy it.  It’s a way to “fix” my book and leaving it alone for a few weeks meant that when I went back to it I really was looking at it through the eyes of a “reader”  I also enjoy the peace and quiet, I get to have a cup of coffee and some time to myself before the rest of the house gets up there’s something about early morning that I just love – when you’re looking out just as the day is beginning. I confess to a certain smugness when the task is over for the day and it’s only 7am.  Six o clock starts – no bother!!

